Lion’s Club awards annual Francis Bailey scholarships
August 21, 2019


The Sanibel-Captiva Lion's Club recently announce the recipients of its Francis Bailey Lions Scholarship Awards for 2019.

Isabella DeCosta and Jenna Kjoller join five other multi-year scholarship winners currently pursuing their educational goals. They are Deanna Craig, Lauren Lockard, Sam Arensman, Gabriele Gedvilaite and Anna Kjoller.

A recent graduate of Evangelical Christian School, DeCosta plans to attend Virginia Military Institute pursing a degree in international studies; an early enrollee at the University of Florida, Kjoller graduated from the International Baccalaureate Program at Fort Myers High School.

Deserving students who live or work on Sanibel and Captiva or whose families live or work on the islands are eligible to apply for the scholarship awards. Students may be enrolled in college, universities or vocational/technical schools. Applications are reviewed each year by the Scholarship Committee and awards are made in June. As long as award recipients continue to meet the eligibility requirements, the scholarship will continue for four years or until graduation, whichever is earlier.

For more information, visit or contact Scholarship Committee Chair Valerie Tutor at 239-834-8141.


Regular Size Island Reporter, Captiva Current, Sanibel-Captiva Islander